Laureates' Concert International Summer Academy 2019

Press release
Gruppenbild, alle lächeln in die Kamera | © Christian Schneider
Around 800 students from 57 nations participated in the International Summer Academy 2019 of the Mozarteum University Salzburg. Some students attended more than one master class, so that a total of 942 course bookings were registered. The final highlight is the prize-winners' concert on August 23 as part of the Salzburg Festival at 8 p.m. in the Great Hall of the Mozarteum Foundation.
After six intensive course weeks, the best students of all master classes traditionally perform - selected in the "Prize Winner Selection Academies" of the Inter-national Summer Academy Mozarteum by the jury members Johannes Honsig-Erlenburg (President of the International Mozarteum Foundation), Alexander Müllenbach (former director of the International Summer Academy), Hannes Eichmann (ORF - former director of the Ö1 Music Editorial Office Salzburg), Vice-Rector Hannfried Lucke (director of the International Summer Academy Mozarteum) and Mozarteum Rector Elisabeth Gutjahr. The prizes are donated by the Cultural Fund of the City of Salzburg and presented by Elisabeth Gutjahr and Salzburg City Councilor Sabine Gabath. The most popular master classes were piano (343 participants + 16 gifted students), violin (177 + 20 gifted students), voice (121) and viola (51). Two thirds of the students were female, and the average age was around 21.
The countries of origin did not have to be named for reasons of data protection - among the nationalities indicated, Japan (102), Germany (87), China (78), South Korea (68), Taiwan (56), Italy (55) as well as Austria (51) and the USA (32) were most strongly represented. The 2019 laureates will be
announced following the
final Laureate Selection Academy on August 21
(6 p.m., Solitaire). 2019 Prize Winners: Grigoris Ioannou (m/24), Greece, piano
master class Aquiles Delle Vigne Kimberly E. Milton (w/33), USA, mezzo-soprano
Master Class John Thomasson Wolfgang Matthias Schnorbusch (m/31), Germany, viola
Master Class Andreas Willwohl Haruna Shinoyama (w/25), Japan, violin
Master Class Sergiu Schwartz/Pierre Amoyal Jolana Slavíková (w/28), Czech Republic, soprano
Master Class Hedwig Fassbender Anastasia Yasko (w/28), Russia, piano
Master Class Dina Yoffe Cunmo Yin (m/25), China, piano Master Class Andrea Bonatta Himari Yoshimura (w/8), Japan, violin Master Class Zakhar Bron